My baby is 1!

22 Nov

It blows my mind to think that my wee little babe is now a big ‘ol one year old!  To think that just one year ago, this was my little love:

I am so enjoying seeing her little personality blossom–and how interesting it is to see the ways that she and her big brother are different.  I feel like when you have one child, their particular personality becomes your normal, or the standard.  Adding another to the mix (and I can imagine it gets even more interesting when you add even more) seems to make it easier to pinpoint the unique characteristics of each child, right?

Well, little Miss Thang seems to be quite the extrovert.  She loves to say “hiiiii” to friends she meets while out and about (be they of the canine persuasion or the human-kind 🙂  and she is so very verbal!  Her little “foreign language talk”, as we have dubbed it seriously cracks me up.  She loves to point with her little finger and just talk, talk, talk away.  And with such seriousness too!

As I have mentioned many times before, this girl is ca-razy about her daddy.  Well, both of my kids are really.  A little party may or may not be thrown each day around 5:30/6 when daddy arrives home!  And yes, I share in my children’s enthusiasm for the return of my partner in managing the chaos!

 

{Maggie and Sarah: do yall spy your pictures on our fridge? 🙂 }

In the picture below, Holland was feeling really yucky and all she wanted was to cuddle with her daddy!

Playtime with daddy is especially fun.  My big girl absolutely LOVES to climb all over her daddy as soon as she sees that he’s fair game.  It is hysterical to watch–she literally plows into him and wrestles her way around.  I’m sure Holland learned some of these antics from watching her brother do the same–and from trying to protect herself form his very physical affection for her (we’ll call it affection here for the sake of preserving a positive memory…)

Holland also loves music and will dance to just about any beat she hears.  She’s likes to stack her rings, and she’s quite impressive with puzzles!  And stickers–it’s amazing to me that she gets how they work!

 

And for the record, her eating took a nose dive about 6 weeks ago.  She went from eating most anything we’d put in front of her to being really picky and sometimes eating barely anything.  Of course this caused me great concern, mainly because I know the road we’ve walked with Wade….so, a couple weeks ago,  I was able to get her in to see our allergists down in Norfolk, and praise the Lord, she tested negative to all of the major allergens!  Theoretically, she could develop Eosinophilic Esophagitis at any time (even as an adult), but it is a huge blessing to know the she isn’t sensitive to any food right now.  It’s also a big weight off my shoulders to know that if she’s not eating, it’s likely not due to allergy-related discomfort.  We’ve been struck down with a couple illnesses over the past couple weeks, and the little lady is working away at cutting new teeth (she’s got five as of now), so I’m really hoping those things are to blame for her appetite issues.






As a result of the finicky eating, her stats at her one year check-up weren’t particularly impressive…18 lbs, 8 oz (10th percentile) and 29 1/2″ tall (50th percentile).  We still nurse, and honestly I don’t know when we’ll stop (maybe when I grow so desperate for a night alone somewhere?!).  For now, I am savoring that sweet  and fleeting connection with my baby.  I’ll also be honest and say that I’m not always loving the fact that the middle of the night wake-ups are generally only soothed by my bosom!  🙂 I’m *planning* to wean her off of some or all of the nighttime snacks once she’s consistently eating well during the day and once she’s taking cow’s milk well.  We’ve had some mild success with that, and it’s funny–it’s a completely new thing for us because Wade never drank milk from a cup!

And oh!–I can’t believe I’m about to finish this post without including this–my big girl is now a walking girl!  She took a couple little steps two days before her birthday at the park, a few more the next day, and then she really began to walk for multiple steps at a time on her actual birthday!  Since then, she’s really taken off and now she can be seen walking all over the place!  Philip was just commenting to me the other day how funny it is to see your baby–who you have grown so accustomed to seeing crawling all over the place–standing up and walking around!  She is so proud of her new skill, and I must say I am too 🙂  I’ll try to get a video on here soon of some of her first steps in action!

It is so true what they say, I think.  That in this season of life with little ones the days are long, but the years go by so very fast.

Here are a few more from her early days:

 

4 Responses to “My baby is 1!”

  1. rachel November 22, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    Happy 1st Birthday to your sweet baby girl!! She is precious!! Happy Thanksgiving!!

  2. Caroline Malatesta November 23, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    Happy Birthday to Holland! Walking aready, huh? Time for you to get pregnant agin! 😉

  3. shannon November 28, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    Oh, I love it! That last picture of H makes me want to just squish her cheeks! 🙂 And, I think it is hilarious what you said about the pointing and jabbering. Perhaps we should let these girls call and chat with each other–I think H and A would be quite a pair on the phone! ha! 🙂 (PS: LOVED the puppy pops–thanks so much for thinking of us!)

  4. The Fifes November 29, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    Happy birthday to you sweet Miss Holland!

Thanks for taking the time to comment on my little blog. I love to hear from you.

