Fall Highlights

22 Dec

The days turn into weeks, the weeks into months, and as time goes by I often have the best of intentions to blog about the various things we do, but somehow I never get around to it.  So, I’m going to try and recap our fall by highlighting some of the more memorable events…

Wade started preschool, two mornings a week this year, and at a different program than last year.  We have LOVED it, and I am rather sad that he won’t be able to go back next year! (you know, since we are moving to Omaha and all…)  Obligatory first day pictures:

Oh, who am I kidding?  We don’t stare longingly at lovely flowers for photos!  This is perhaps more indicative of our normal…

He is two, after all.

And I snapped this as he made his way into his classroom.  He wasted no time getting warmed up to his new room!

This fall, Wade also really got into his new Strider bike.  Shame on me for not blogging about it before because this little bike has been a major source of fun for my little man.  Many, many thanks to his Grammy and PopPop for discovering this treasure of a toy!  The concept is pretty genius–because the bike sits really low to the ground, there are no pedals, so kids learn to balance well, thus eliminating the need for training wheels once they move up to a regular-sized bike.  You should see Wade go on this thing.  He flies!  I need to get a video on here of him in action…

I made a fabric-covered board to display my kid’s artwork.  Thanks to some of my favorite blogs for the inspiration.  (click here to see some!)  On the whole, a very easy project and I really love the addition in our kitchen area!

Philip and I attended the engagement party of my dear friend, Alston.  After the party we hung out with the wedding party.  It was really  fun.  There was lots of dancing involved.  Suffice it to say, we do not get out much and I was so grateful for the fun we had.

We had a really lovely time picking our own pumpkins this year.  You know how in life there are a lot of things that you look forward to, thinking they will be really great, and then they let you down?  I’m certain it isn’t just me.  Well, I have this experience all too often (probably due at least in part to some unrealistic, overly idealistic expectations on my part, but that’s another topic), but not this time!  The pumpkin patch was all I hoped it would be and more 🙂  The air was crisp, my kids were happy, the scenery could not have been any prettier.  If I didn’t stop to thank him for it at the time, let me do it now:  Thank Jesus, for moments like this, where I get a taste of the kind of full life for which we were made.

We attended my cousin, Brooksie’s wedding.  The reception was at my aunt and uncle’s lakefront home, and it was really lovely.

We made pumpkin muffins!

Wade had his second visit to the dentist…he actually went to see a dentist in the pediatric program at VCU (not his daddy) and despite appearances, the visit didn’t go well at all!  He totally freaked out and had to be held down by his father!  Just keepin’ it real, folks.

Are you still with me?  Come on back soon for the final installment of our fall recap!

5 Responses to “Fall Highlights”

  1. Hallie Simms Holland December 22, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    I love your blog, Anne. Every time that I click over (oh yes, I lurk from time to time) something resonates with me. Despite the fact that your kids wear clean smocked clothes and mine usually can be found in stained hand-me-downs. 🙂 Despite the fact that you are _gorgeous_ and I can tell from your pics that you have that natural artistic eye for beauty that fills your house with pretty things that match, which I envy and do NOT have.
    You freely write about your struggles. Your heart for Jesus and for seeing God’s hand in the mundane. I love that. I struggle to be who He has made me to be and to rejoice in the life He has given me. You get that.
    I think we would be good friends if only Omaha and Culpeper were the same place. And I would definitely dress cuter if you were my friend….

  2. Heidi December 22, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    I LOVE LOVE that bulletin board you made! We are in a small condo right now and don’t really have room for something like that, but as soon as we move I am going to have Alex get on that project (he is the crafty one haha). Your kids are adorable as always and glad you had a fun fall.

  3. malatestaclan December 22, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    You’re comment about idealistic vs realistic family outings is so true…SO TRUE! That pretty much sums up our night out to see Santa and the Zoo lights. I’m glad you had a successful pumpkin patch outing, though! And I can’t wait to hear more about Omaha!

  4. rachel December 23, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    what a fun post!! the fabric board is lovely. where did you get the fabric?? love it. your kids are adorable!! merry christmas!!

  5. scarlett April 24, 2013 at 10:55 am #

    I love pumpkin muffins.

Thanks for taking the time to comment on my little blog. I love to hear from you.

