Emmanuel!

25 Dec

Merry Christmas, friends!

For me, the Christmas season is typically a time of great anticipation, expectation, excitement, and a good hearty dose of stress and anxiety as well.  For sure a lot of it is culturally based, but whatever the reason, I’ve always said that Christmas is better as it exists in my head, which admittedly, is a bit of a strange thing to say.  It just can never quite seem to measure up to my expectations!  I know I feel a lot of pressure (mostly self-inflicted) to do meaningful things around Christmas, to really soak up the season, and enjoy it all to the fullest.  Of course I also want to think of and give just the right gifts (so not my strength!), and I want to teach my children to appreciate the true meaning of Christmas.  I’d like to think we could make lots of festive holiday crafts and baked goods.  Maybe serve someone in need?  And let’s not forget those Christmas decorations; I’m not gonna lie, I want my house to look the part of Christmas too!

I can’t say that I’m over all of these things, and I shouldn’t be because most of them are generally good things.  But I can say that this year I have truly felt an excitement about Christmas that has felt fresh and different to me.  Maybe it’s the season of life I’m in–as I’ve shared before, motherhood has brought me to my knees unlike anything else I’ve ever done.  So I suppose I see how very badly I need Christmas to come–because I need Christ to come.  And He did come!   He came to save me from myself in the form of a tiny, needy baby.  Truly miraculous when you stop and think about it.  This truth has brought joy, excitement, and thankfulness to my little dark and sinful heart.

A couple of weeks ago we talked about some of these things at our small group from church.  We talked about how we think we need to do a lot of things to prepare for Christmas, when really there is one thing and one thing only that we truly need to be prepared for Christmas.  That thing is our need for Him.  We bring our need and God brings His son.  Praise Him!

What good news it is that, “the people who walked in darkness have seen a great light; those who dwelt in a land of deep darkness, on them has light shined.” Isaiah 9:2.  

Here are a few more pictures taken by the talented Amy Robinson.  I was so happy with how she captured our family.  Especially considering my little rascal son who made the whole experience rather challenging to say the least (love you, Wader-tater).

 

One Response to “Emmanuel!”

  1. rachel January 3, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

    I love your blog. Your words are so inspirational. I love how you express your faith. I also love those smocked clothes. Do you have a favorite shop?? My favorite one is Orient Expressed. It is in New Orleans, Louisiana. Happy New Year!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment on my little blog. I love to hear from you.

